Learning Letters with the Apple Mini iPad

Here, my three year old learns how to make letters following the easy instructions of this fun Disney App.

Here, my three year old learns how to make letters following the easy instructions of this fun Disney App.

If you have an iPad, one of my favorite activities for my toddler is to learn how to trace lines and alphabet letters.  I love how Disney put this in story book form and how it relates to a cartoon character that my son already loves.  I used our Apple TV and the mirroring option on the iPad to project what he was doing on the iPad up on our big screen TV.  This felt interactive to him – especially when it came time after tracing the letter where my son could record himself saying the letter and then hear it come thru the TV speakers. The app does a great job of prompting my son on where to start and to follow the direction of the line prompt. I could see putting a pre-k friendly case on an iPad and letting him sit on his own with this app as well.  I can keep him next to me and supervise him (because I wanted to make sure he formed his letters in the proper manner) and let him work on his “school” while the older ones are working nearby.  This keeps him busy for at least 20 minutes not bad for $2.99! 😉

(Above) My three year old learning how to make letters using Disney’s Winnie the Pooh iPad App.

Leave a Reply

