Learning while playing with playdough [a.k.a. Playdoh]!

Learning while playing with playdoh!

One of my favorite activities for my little man are his laminated playdough sheets. These are great because they give structure to his playtime. Some encourage him to make a face, some inspire him to finish the other half of the picture (i.e. making carrots to put in the soil), and other sheets teach him counting as he makes the number of balls on the sheet. Althought this took me about a half hour to print off and laminate, this activity pays me back in time as it can keep him busy for approximately 30 minutes – sometimes longer if he hasn’t played with it lately.

You can download the activity packet here thanks to the blog, Planet of the Apels, where I originally found the resource via Pinterest.

Here’s my favorite recipe to date for homemade playdough. I love that I have the ingredients in my pantry and it is easy for him to work with, too.  It takes about 15 minutes to make the playdough, plus cooling time in the fridge, but it lasts for several weeks!

For the playdough, you will need:
  • white flour – 1 cup
  • warm water – 1 cup
  • salt – 2 tbsp
  • cream of tartar – 2 tbsp
  • cooking oil – 2 tbsp
  • Jello – 1 3oz pack

(Click the link above for full instructions and step-by-step photos.)

Leave a Reply

